5 Fantastic Works of Spoken Word

I’ve been getting really into spoken word poetry as of recent, and I have stumbled across some truly spectacular stuff, written by great artists of the spoken and written word. I think you guys should see:

Trigger Warning: profanity

#1, scratch and dent dreams, by Eric Darby, a great work about the dreams we can achieve and hope for tomorrow, along with my favourite line in there, “and there’s no metaphor there, it’s just good ice cream.”

 

#2, Shake the Dust, by Anis Mojgani, representing everyone in this world, beautiful wording, and a certain something I can’t explain.

 

#3, (I don’t actually know the name of this, but it is really awesome.) A truly awesome interpretation of a classic cartoon.

 

#4, Pretty, by Katie Makkai, depicts an accurate description of the world which some of us live.

 

#5, This is my Voice, by Shane Koyczan, one of my personal favourite spoken word artists, who has incredibly moving words he wants you to hear.

 

I hope you enjoyed these as much as I did, perhaps even finding a new love for spoken word? Perhaps I’ll give it a go myself.

I’d like to do some more of these posts, sharing great poems with you all. So if you have a favourite poem, leave it in the comments below, I’d love to see it.

****

And a question, which do you prefer, spoken word, or written poems?

 

Leave a Reply

